Costa Rica Government

The most stable and oldest democracy in Central America


The Republic of Costa Rica

Costa Rica has been known for the most stable and oldest democracy in Central America. Executive power is exercised by the president, who is both the head of state and head of government, and his cabinet. 57 Legislative Assembly deputies are used within the government system along with the President. These are elected every 4 years. The Costa Rica government is built upon the executive branch, the legislative branch, and the judicial branch. Each branch plays a key role in how the government functions and makes decisions that affect everyone in the country. Costa Rica has no military, but it keeps a domestic police, security forces, and a Coast Guard. It a pleasant and safe country to visit and to live in. 

Executive Branch

The President-elect for a 4-year period and run the government and legislature.  An independent Supreme Electoral Tribunal supervises the elections. Key members of government include the President, Vice President, and second Vice President. Under these three are 26 Ministers doing various jobs. For example, finance or foreign Relations. 

Carlos Alvarado Quesada


Current President 

Carlos Alvarado Quesada

Epsy Campbell Barr

Vice President

Current 1st Vice President

Epsy Campbell Barr

Marvin Rodríguez Cordero

Second Vice President

Current 2nd VP

Marvin Rodríguez Cordero

Legislative branch

The Legislative branch Deputies are elected by direct vote and can be made up of several different political parties. They proportion the representation upon each of the seven provinces. There are seven provinces in Costa Rica: San Jose, Heredia, Cartago, Guanacaste, Puntarenas, Alajuela and Limón  While the provinces function separately for administrative purposes, they do not have provincial officials. Of course, mayors are also elected for a 4-year period, through general elections.

Judicial branch

The Supreme Court leads the judiciary branch and the legislator. The Assembly elects twenty-two judges for a renewable eight-year term. In 1989, the Sala IV, which is the Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court, was established and is responsible for executive decrees and assessing the constitutionality of legislation and habeas corpus warrants.  The Ombudsman, the Solicitor General and the Comptroller General of the Republic are responsible for the oversight of the government; So many, of these institutional roles are increasingly prominent in governing the country. 

Islands Costa RicaInterested in more information about Costa Rica? Check out the My Costa Rica Travel Blog! 

© Copyright 2004-2019 all rights reserved. CostaRica.Org is a Travel Agency that offers Custom Costa Rica Vacations & Packages Including Hotels, All-Inclusive Resorts and Tours.
Read our Privacy Policy - Sitemap.
x Download the Costa Rica Guide